Surprise Workout of the Day: Kristi Yamaguchi’s Power Workout

This is a solid Intermediate workout.  It is led by celebrity trainer Erin O’Brien who is married to the hot guy (Plumber Mike) from Desperate Housewives.  I borrowed this from the library when I saw that they had it in stock.  I was curious how it was.  It pleasantly surprised me that I liked this workout. I was afraid it would be boring and have a dread factor as some workout DVDs do that have a “celebrity” with a trainer. I’m an advanced exerciser and felt this would be a solid intermediate workout or a lighter day for me. You will need hand weights and can use 3 to 8 pounds.  I used 8 pounds but probably could have used 10 in a couple of the moves.  You really should try to challenge yourself on the strength segments and I don’t think 3 pounds would do that but that is what was mentioned in the workout and what Kristi used.

The workout is a total of 54 minutes.  There is a warmup and then there are 3 circuits that contain a cardio segment and then a strength segment.  In the cardio segment there is a buildup of the moves and hi/low impact is offered.  If you do the high impact you will get a better and more intense workout.  I was able to get my heart rate up to 150 bpm on the last cardio segment when I pushed it with the lunge jumps.  After you finished all 3 circuits there is a “From the Top” segment.  This is all of the cardio moves put together for a 4 minute segment.  Then there is a 9 minute segment of pecs and abs.  I liked that she put the moves together to work the chest and abs together and not just separate moves for each.  After that segment there is a thorough stretch.

I thought Kristi and Erin had a great rapport.  Erin was very professional and knowledgeable and Kristi was cheerful and didn’t complain a lot.  I liked the buildup on the cardio segments and the strength segments had a few techniques thrown in as well.  I liked the set-up of the workout and the way they separated the circuits and then gave you a “from the top” segment of the cardio.   I’m glad I tried it.

Leave a Reply

