Picked Apart

Today’s post isn’t a DVD review or a workout developed by me.  It’s just 100% raw emotion of what is on my mind at the moment.

One thing about being over 60 pounds heavier was that I was pretty much ignored.  Sometimes this was a bad thing, but sometimes it was a good thing too.  I feel that now the people around me are watching what I eat in judgment like “Oh, wow, should she really be eating THAT?”   I’ve actually had people make many comments about what I’m eating – both very contradictory.  “Oh, you’re not eating any cake?” or “Is that ALL you’re eating?” to “Wow, did you bring the whole fridge in?” (this was to my numerous containers I had for my build-a-salad at lunchtime).  I even had someone rip a rice crispy treat right out of my hand one day while I was taking a bite.  While I know this wasn’t the best choice for me to make, I don’t make a habit of it and it was a rough day at work and if I had had something healthier on hand I would’ve had that but the rice crispy treat was it for the day.  It wasn’t like I didn’t workout 3 times that day – Yes, 3 times – most days I workout 3 times a day.  I have to workout when I get up in the morning so I am not a grouch at work.  I workout after work at the gym and I do another workout in the late evening so I’m not sitting on my butt at home since I live alone – if it is nice out I do try to get outside instead for some bike riding or other activity but that isn’t always possible.

I get looks from people looking me up and down.  I never know whether it is a look of approval or disapproval and I just wish people would leave their comments to themselves.  Yes, I still do carry an extra layer of fat on my body but that doesn’t mean I don’t work my ass off every day or eat the best that I can – note:  best that I can – not perfect.  I’m human.  I get cravings just like other people – so I don’t need you (people in general) to tell me about this or that because chances are I already know about it.  I’ve been teaching myself about fitness and healthy eating for the past 3 1/2 years now and I do a lot of reading on the subject.  I probably know more than you (again, people in general).

I say this because I just wish people would think before they speak.  Nobody has rights to me just because I embarked on a fitness and weight loss journey.  Keep your comments to yourself.

3 Responses to “Picked Apart”

  1. It does suck that people think they need to say something, especially if it is negative or judgmental. I’m here to holla that you are AMAZING and POSITIVE and INSPIRING. Shut out those other people who don’t know what you have been through and how you continue to fight to be the best that you can be.

  2. whoo- boy. I am totally where you are at right now. Why is it that people seem to think that they have a right to saw ANYTHING about what other people are doing. I was grumpy about that yesterday. You’re amazing and inspiring and well, I’d tell them to shut the hell up, too. 🙂

  3. Theophilus Says:

    You are a beautiful person inside and out. Never forget that and may God Bless You.

Leave a Reply

