Jillian Michael’s Killer Buns & Thighs – Level 1

Jillian’s Killer Buns & Thighs DVD offers three workouts roughly 40 minutes in length and progressively getting tougher with each workout.  Since I just finished The Butt Bible, I am really looking forward to having a rocking booty after completing this set of workouts for a few weeks.  This is a review of Level 1 only.

This is an intermediate level workout with beginner modifications and modifications for the advanced. You will need a set of medium to heavy hand weights for this workout (I like heavy for deadlifts).  This workout is 41 minutes long.

Jillian starts out this workout with a thorough warmup which includes a circuit of dynamic stretches and movements that you repeat two times.  There are four total exercise circuits in which Jillian does five moves once and then repeats them.  She includes dynamic and cardio movements to get your heart-rate up.  She tells you to pick up the pace if you want to intensify the movement and raise your heart-rate sky high.  In the movements that utilize handweights, she explains that you can use heavier weights to make that particular movement harder.  The third circuit offers old school type movements including the fire hydrant that I’m sure those who worked out with Jane Fonda in the 80s will remember!  She ends this workout with a short stretch that I thought could have been a little more thorough.

Jillian isn’t too domineering in this workout.  She is the tough trainer that you would expect but she doesn’t go over the top.  Jillian cues well and offers explanations of good form.  Jillian mentions that she realizes the background girls are using light weights but they do more than one take during filming so she doesn’t want to overwork them (apparently people on Facebook and Twitter complain about it being too easy).  She is trying to tell you to use heavy weights!  I agree totally with her.  A couple of the moves are a little unique and I will take them to the gym with me to keep it fresh.  I only meant to do half of this workout the first time because I was running late but I decided to finish the whole thing because I was enjoying myself!  I cannot wait to get to Level 3 – I’m looking forward to the challenge.

One Response to “Jillian Michael’s Killer Buns & Thighs – Level 1”

  1. Oooh, this sounds like one that I totally have to try. I have an upper back injury so I’ve been trying to focus more on lower body workouts. Just got Jillians Ripped in 30 and I like that one so far for when I am pressed for time and just fit in one of the 25 minute workout. Great review as always!

Leave a Reply

