Jillian Michaels – Extreme Shed & Shred Workout DVD Review

When I saw that this DVD was coming on the market I was happy that Jillian was going “extreme.”  Then I saw the preview for it and it seemed too much like a few of her other videos that I already have so I wasn’t going to purchase this one.

Then I read this review from the Fit Bottomed Girls website:  http://fitbottomedgirls.com/2011/12/review-jillian-michaels-extreme-shed-shred/

Needless to say they really liked this workout DVD and here is a quote from their post:  “This is the best workout DVD Jillian has created and one of the best DVDs I’ve ever done.”

While I’m not sorry I purchased this workout, I cannot agree with the above statement.  It isn’t as intense as I like and it doesn’t focus enough on one area for much of a burn in the strengthening/toning area but that doesn’t make it a bad workout.  It’s a great conditioning workout and if you don’t already add one of the elements contained in this workout like isometric or balance moves, it may just take your fitness to another level.

There are a few things that I do like:  I like that she gives the option to combine Workouts 1 and 2 into a super long 80 minute workout (not having to do two cooldowns and warmups – if you choose this option you can bypass having to redo them).

I like that she included an eating plan via the internet with an access code.  That is very thoughtful of her as some people just don’t get the value of nutrition in their workouts.

As I said before, this workout has 2 separate workouts (Number 1 is 42 minutes and Number 2 is 54 minutes) and an option to create the super long workout.  This is how I chose to complete this workout.

This workout is a fusion of some body weight challenged moves, yoga poses with a twist, isometric holds, balance challenges, martial arts and plyometrics.  Jillian does a round of moves and then repeats the circuit.  The circuits are fast paced.  You will need a couple of sets of weights and you can even “blow up” some of the movements by adding weights which is normal Jillian style.

Workout Number 1 is a lower intensity level than Workout Number 2 which is more dynamic.   Workout Number 2 also has more circuits than Workout Number 1.

Jillian’s demeanor doesn’t seem too harsh and fake as other workouts.  She’s still her normal “badass” and pushes the girls but she isn’t over the top.  I liked that on this go ’round.

I would give this workout DVD 4 out of 5 stars.  I’m sure I will keep it in my rotation and swap out the Ripped in 30 DVD because those workouts are shorter and I like longer workouts on the weekends.

If you haven’t purchased one of Jill’s workout DVDs in awhile go ahead and get this – otherwise, if you have most of her workouts, you might want to skip it because it does contain a lot of similar movements from her other workouts – unless what you are looking for is a very long length workout.  Then you might want to give this a try.

2 Responses to “Jillian Michaels – Extreme Shed & Shred Workout DVD Review”

  1. Thanks for the review, I find that Jillian Michaels DVD’s tend to fall short of my expectations, with that said I do like her yoga DVD.

  2. Hi mistransformation I enjoyed your blog

Leave a Reply

