Why I Don’t Hate Paula Deen

I have been a big fan of Paula Deen, her various cooking shows on the Food Network, her cookbooks, and her biography, “It Ain’t All About the Cookin.”  Recently Paula “came out” to say that she was diagnosed with Type II Diabetes a few years ago and that she’s not going to change the way she cooks on her show because she never intended for people to eat the way she cooks 365 days a year.

I can say that after all the shows of Paula’s I’ve watched I have NEVER tried one of her recipes.  The show to me is more of a fantasy especially when she cooks chocolatey good ooey-gooey desserts!  Paula is going to have to deal with the ramifications of her diagnosis and hopefully take care of business to control it – even eliminate it if possible (that’s what I hope for her but if she doesn’t change her eating I know this won’t happen). If she chooses the medication route – so be it!  I did see her post a picture of herself on the treadmill about a week ago.  So at least she is trying to add activity into her life.

I think we are being a little too hard on her.  Nobody makes YOU pick up anything and eat it.  You control what YOU put in your mouth.  Don’t cook the way Paula does if you are angry with her.  I don’t think it was ever a secret that the way she cooks is not healthy.  Watching her show was always just a sense of comfort to me with Paula’s motherly down home spirit.  I wish her many years of good health to come!

P.S.  I think that the scenario isn’t even as bad as it seems in the fact that it is bringing Type II Diabetes into light and perhaps now maybe people will link the fact that bad eating habits could lead you to this disease.

2 Responses to “Why I Don’t Hate Paula Deen”

  1. You are absolutely right, we make our own choices, Paula didn’t make us eat anything.

  2. The only problem I have with this whole “scandal” if you will is that she waited to share this with the world until she was endorsed by a diabetes drug company. It all just seems like a very large publicity stunt as well to promote her son’s show “Not My Mama’s Meals.” I think the underlying problem is that Americans feel we should know everything about every celebrity at any given moment. Some things can be private but the way she came out with it, after being endorsed, is slightly ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

