Personal Training with Jackie (Warner) 30 Day Fast Start DVD Review

If you are looking for a workout that is going to work your upper body to fatigue – THIS is it!  I think this is a great upper body workout and the ab section is good as well.  It’s not such a great lower body workout for me because I train my legs pretty hard and since a low amount of weight is required to superset the moves with the shoulders, my legs really don’t feel it.

This workout is all toning and you will need a couple of sets of medium to lighter dumbbells.  Jackie recommends 8s and 5s.

This workout is a pyramid style workout which is similar to the ladder workout I posted on here back in June of last year: https://mistransformation.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/descending-ladder-workouts-nos-1-and-2-my-own-design.  This means that rep counts are gradually increased and you do one rep, then two, then three, then four up to ten within each set.

In Workout Number 1Upper Body – Jackie supersets chest with biceps and you work the reps on those body parts with three separate movements then back and triceps are supersetted.

In Workout Number 2Lower Body – Jackie supersets shoulders and legs and then she finishes with the ab segment.

I like to do Workouts Number 1 and 2 together and consider that a total upper body workout since the shoulder segment is so effective.  I do the abs segment on my abs days.

Sometimes towards the third movement my muscles would be so fatigued I’d have to dropset the weight and use a smaller load.  I start with 8 though and after doing over 50 reps at a time, believe me you feel it.

Although time seems to go by fast, this workout definitely doesn’t have a fun factor.  Jackie is pleasant, however, and I trust that she knows what she is doing to train a person.  She says she uses these pyramids to rip a person up fast and also to break through a plateau.  Jackie is in phenomenal shape so she must be doing something right.

One thing I would like to add is that she does go up the pyramid but she doesn’t go back down.  A true pyramid is going up in a count and then going back down to 1 rep.  You might want to keep that in mind if you choose to do this kind of workout so you can try that technique as well.

I think watching the video will help you understand the setup of this workout.

2 Responses to “Personal Training with Jackie (Warner) 30 Day Fast Start DVD Review”

  1. I have been wanting to try this workout and I think I will now!!! Thanks for the review!!

Leave a Reply

