DeltaFit Speed Shred Ultimate Body-Weight Workout DVD Review

DeltaFit Speed Shred is a relatively new 8 DVD workout series from Men’s Health.  It was designed, developed and presented by BJ Gaddour.   This workout series focuses on metabolic training.  The first workout I tried is the Bodyweight workout and this is my review:

This workout is designed to use only a few pieces of equipment that you may already have around your house.  A step, a high step (I used my kitchen chair), a towel (and not just for the sweat), and perhaps a mat.

This workout starts out without a formal warmup so you will need to warm yourself up first.  There is also no cool down/stretch so you will have to take care of that on your own as well.  I certainly know how to warm myself up and stretch at the end so it isn’t a total deal-breaker but it would have been nice to have these along with the workout.

The set up of this workout is 10 moves are completed for 1 minute each and 15 seconds rest between each move.  After all 10 moves are completed there is about a minute (a little more actually) rest and then the 10 moves are repeated again 2 more times progressing in difficulty each time through.  Some of the movements are squats to a bench/chair, lunges from the step, towel press ups, step ups to a step/high step, running taps using a step, a sort of wrestling movement (that is hard to explain), a plyo jump up and a burpee.  There are also 2 other moves using the towel.  These are a little awkward and I’m not sure exactly how effective they are but BJ seems to like them.

I will warn you that BJ obviously doesn’t have his own timer and his crew seems to be responsible for telling him when to start and when to rest.  They fail to do their job at times and BJ runs over in spots and even misses a whole rest period in another.  If you watch the clock yourself you can monitor this yourself.

The workout isn’t an all out high intensity workout and BJ himself even states that this is a “tweener” workout to use between the higher intensity workouts.

I didn’t mind the workout.  I wasn’t in love with it either because I really crave high intensity but I do like to change things up and bodyweight workouts are probably something I don’t do enough of.

BJ is motivating and really seems to enjoy this workout.  He is kind of like the really hot guy next door that is sort of goofy and isn’t so arrogant that he won’t speak to you.  He really seems down to earth.

I am hoping to try the “Workout from Hell” from this series in the future.  When I do, I will review that one as well.

Have I mentioned that BJ Gaddour is really hot:

AFTERWARD:  If you came to my blog from a search for DeltaFit reviews – please go through the rest of my blog from this point forward.  I reviewed a few more of these workouts.  (I can see from my stats page how people get to my blog and a lot come to this page from search engines – this is my most popular post).

Here is the promo video for the series…..

5 Responses to “DeltaFit Speed Shred Ultimate Body-Weight Workout DVD Review”

  1. Hello from across the ocean! This is just what I was hunting for, and you got it right. Thanks very much

  2. Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this web site on a regular basis, this site is in fact good and the users are really sharing fastidious thoughts.

  3. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I’m quite sure I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  4. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Many thanks

Leave a Reply

