Men’s Health DeltaFit Speed Shred The Ultimate Boot Camp Workout DVD Review

 

WorkoutFromHell

For my last workout DVD review of the year I chose to do another workout from the Speed Shred system. BJ is a well-known Boot Camp instructor in Wisconsin and he gives us a taste of what one of his boot camps would be like.

A lot of tools are needed for this workout:  Box (or chair), low step, Dumbbells, Kettlebells and a Medicine Ball.  I found that you could modify if you do not have all of these tools.  The first time I completed this workout I was at my parents’ house for the holiday and all I have there are a few sets of dumbbells and a chair.  I was still able to complete the workout.  BJ suggests this is for the advanced fitness level (I say an intermediate level could modify the moves because the intensity of this workout isn’t that high).  BJ does offer instruction on the moves and he also offers some modifications as well.

BJ starts this workout off with a warm up – this is unusual for some of his Speed Shred workouts.  This is definitely a plus in my opinion because I didn’t have to improvise on my own.  BJ does a combination of dynamic mobility movements before the workout so “we don’t mess up our joints.”  As BJ says.

First two rounds are: 10 Moves 20 seconds of work with 40 seconds of rest.  Between the rounds is a minute rest.  I will say that the first two rounds seem a little easy because of the length of the rest periods.  At first I thought it was because I was limited to light weights at my parents’ house but when I came home on Christmas night I completed this workout with heavy weights and it still didn’t leave me completely breathless.

BJ progresses the movements after each round.  This not only eliminates monotony but it also increases the intensity of the workout.

Last two rounds:  10 moves with 40 seconds of work and 20 seconds of rest.  One minute rest between rounds.  Shortening the rest periods does increase the intensity.  Some of the movements in the last two rounds may need to be modified if being completed by an intermediate level exerciser.

You will have to do your own cool down/stretch.

All in all this workout isn’t bad but I would suggest to an advanced level exerciser that they do it the day after a high intensity day.  I do not follow the Speed Shred calendar so I don’t know where it falls in that system.  I cannot say it’s like a lot of other boot camps I have done.  Usually they don’t have long rest periods, if they even have any rest periods at all.  I did like the quality of the chosen moves though and that made for a more pleasant workout.

Stay tuned for more reviews in 2013.

2 Responses to “Men’s Health DeltaFit Speed Shred The Ultimate Boot Camp Workout DVD Review”

  1. Hi! Just wanted to say thank you for all of these awesome reviews. Like many people I’m looking for new DVDs to kickstart my workouts next week, and I’ve discovered lots of new ideas on your blog, so much better than the random reviews on Amazon.com. Have a great 2013!

Leave a Reply

