Cathe Friedrich XTrain: Legs (Disc 5) Workout DVD Review

All aboard the XTrain.  XTrain is the new workout series from Cathe Friedrich.  There are 10 discs and you can buy all of them or just the ones that you think are tailored to your needs.  There is something for everyone.  Tabata, weight training, Legs, cycling, boxing and low impact.  I am hoping to offer a few workout DVD reviews from this series.  My first will be Disc 5 – Legs.

XtrainLegs5

XTrain Legs has 3 segments for its “regular” workout and if you’ve ever done a Cathe workout you know what I mean by that.  For those of you who never have had one of her workout DVDs this means that she also has added bonuses and challenges, plus premixes.

You will need many tools for this workout.  Dumbbells (multiple sets), a ball, a chair, Dixie cups (optional), a firewalker (stretchy band to wrap around your legs), strength band and some sliding disks (can use paper plates).  (a barbell is used in the challenge portion but you could lay a dumbbell on your stomach for weight or a weight plate.)

XTrain Legs is a lower weight/higher rep workout.

There is an adequate warm up.  In fact you would probably recognize it as a beginner’s workout.

Segment 1:  Standing

This segment starts off with offset walking lunges (you hold the dumbbell in one hand and switch as you walk).  You may need a lot of space for this.  If you don’t you can always improvise and just do lunges in place and switch the dumbbell.  Cathe then goes into a a forward lean lunge.  You may or may not use Dixie cups for this (I choose not to).   You will then need to grab your Swiss ball and head to a wall near you for plie wall lunges.  The next move is low pulse lunges.  This was done in Butts and Guts and I really like this move.  It seems to really engage my butt.  Side lunges and warrior lunges with the disk, single leg deadlifts and firewalkers (w/ the band) round out the standing portion.

Segment 2:  Ball and Chair

This segment starts off with Ball roll ins.  This is where you lie on your back, feet on Swiss ball and you roll in the ball.  Cathe also does a set of these one legged.  After that you get up on top of the ball for prone frog squeezes then lie on the floor again for inner thigh squeezes with the ball between your knees.  To round out this portion Cathe uses the chair for glute bridges.  You will feel this one for sure!!!

Segment 3:  Floor

This is a classic type of floor portion where you do clams, classic inner thigh lifts, leg lifts and a weighted pizza press move.  You may or may not want to put on some ankle weights.  Cathe doesn’t but if you want to increase the intensity you may use them.  During this segment listen close for Legs by ZZ Top playing in the background.  Gotta love Cathe!

You could choose to do the stretch at this point (Cathe always had adequate stretch segments) or you could continue to the rest of the goodies Cathe offers in this one.

Bonus No. 1:  Barre – You will need your chair for this.  Cathe does typical leg raises/calf raises for an approximate 15 minute Barre segment.

Bonus No. 2:  Rear Delts.  Cathe offers us a rear delt bonus because she says this is one of the least worked body part on a woman.  You will do 3 sets of each exercise offered.  You will need your Swiss ball, dumbbells and a strength band.  I like the way she did 3 sets of each.  This really made me feel like I was working it properly.

Last but not least is the 100 Rep Challenge.  This is a Barbell Hip Thrust wherein you do hip thrusts on the floor for 100 reps!  Each Xtrain disc has these challenges but there is a different one on each disk.

This workout was alright for me but I really like Butts and Guts better.  I felt that during the “regular” workout doing additional sets (like she offered in the delts) would have best served my booty and legs.  Yeah, I could always repeat the workout/segment but that’s not what I want in a workout DVD.  I also would have liked some added gym style legs.

I would grade this as a B as compared to Butts and Guts being an A+.  I know others who really like this Legs workout but it just wasn’t what I was hoping it would be.

……stay tuned for XTrain Cardio Leg Blast……

6 Responses to “Cathe Friedrich XTrain: Legs (Disc 5) Workout DVD Review”

  1. Thanks for the review Missy!!!!

  2. […] Cathe Friedrich XTrain: DVD Review I am always looking for new DVDs to try. My friend Missy at Mistransformation always has some great reviews to share. This week, she took on Cathe Friedrich XTrain Legs DVD. Go check out her great review.  […]

  3. I love a good leg workout. Thanks for another great review. I shared this in my post today too.

  4. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  5. This has to be one of the most thorough glute workout dvd’s on the market today. Even though most of Cathe’s dvd’s are advanced, don’t let that stop you if you’re a beginner or just getting back into working out again. Because it is so advanced, you can definitely grow with it and increase the difficulty level with heavier handweights/barbell once you become stronger. My first try, I only made it throught the first 30 minutes and the next day, I really felt how it worked every major muscle in my legs (except my calves). I really have become a fan of Cathe Friedrich and highly recommend this to everyone.

    • If you liked this you would definitely like Cathe’s Butts and Guts workout – – also reviewed here on this blog. It is a step up from this…Also see my cardio leg blast review. I liked that one from the Xtrain series a bit more than this one. Probably because I’m used to training legs hard and heavy.

Leave a Reply

