Magic Power

This isn’t going to have anything to do with reviewing a workout DVD or fitness discussion really at all.  This is just something I wanted to write about and since I couldn’t find my notes section on my facebook page I decided to write about it here.   So if you only come here for my fitness related posts – you don’t need to read any further, I won’t be offended.

Last weekend I was fortunate enough to score tickets to see Rik Emmett play with our local Symphony Orchestra.  Right now some of you are probably like – Who is Rik Emmett?  Rik Emmett was the guitarist for the rock group Triumph – their heyday was the late 70s/early 80s – but they happen to have done my favorite song of all time Lay It On the Line.  One staple album I always keep in my Jeep is Triumph Classics – I’ve played the crap out of that one. I had been listening to them since I was a teenager but I never really knew what they looked like.  While they did have a few videos back in the 80s their heyday had been a bit before video killed the radio star.    One day just about a year or two ago I decided to look on YouTube for a video of Lay It On the Line. Much to my surprise I was like, “Wow, that guy is hot.” I had been listening to them for years and the guy had written my favorite song and didn’t really realize that.  Being that this man had written and performed my favorite song of all time, I jumped at the opportunity to see him in action.  I was too young to ever go to a Triumph show back in the day.

The show was magnificent.  It wasn’t a night of Triumph songs, it was the orchestra accompanying Rik who was doing renditions of his favorite “guitar heroes” songs – covers from people like, Clapton, Hendrix and Santana.  He also did a couple of songs of his own – including Magic Power originally done by Triumph and a song that got me through a lot of bad days as a teenager.  At one point at the end of While My Guitar Gently Weeps Rik and the Concert Master Violinist had a dueling guitar/violin segment and that was surely a highlight of the show. (Except when at one point in the show Rik even nodded and sang a few lines to me – I’m going to let myself believe that!)

Rik who mentioned that he just turned 60 recently still had it going on.  He’s still not a bad looking guy and he can STILL play.  I think he probably is even a better guitarist now.  I mean think about it.  If he was in his mid 20s to early 30s during the success of Triumph and has been playing all that time to the age of 60 – he certainly would have perfected his craft even more. He mentioned that he teaches guitar and music business classes at a college where he lives.  Imagine having him as your instructor.   You could totally see the rock star in him just wanting to bust out.  I mean when he plays the guitar, STILL at the age of 60 – he plays it with mofoing passion!  Funny guy too – he told some stories, explained a little about the guitar, talked about the funny faces you make when you play guitar, etc.

I was totally blown away by the show.   I hope to possibly have an opportunity in the future to see a show where he performs mostly Triumph songs.  That would be a real treat.  He’s still pretty active touring around, etc.

Since the show I’ve found a lot of videos of Rik playing his various gigs and he even has a few sit down segments where he talks about guitar solos and how to play things that I don’t even understand.

Below is a video of Lay It On the Line with Rik in his red jumpsuit that he even mentioned at the show.  The boy had it going on back in the day and even though the red jumpsuit is pretty cheesy even for the late 70s/early 80s he wore it well.

Rik Emmett back in the day when he was a little hottie:

Rikemmett

Rik Emmett now – not too bad for a 60 year old man – he still set my heart aflutter:

rik_emmett2

Video of Rik giving guitar lessons on Lay It On the Line:

One Response to “Magic Power”

  1. I think he is a super hottie. I knew the band, too, and never knew anything but a few songs of theirs. Being that I’m 54 now, he at 60, I’m like is he available or what!! This was a very cute, enjoyable read. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

