Ballet Body: Core Ultimate Tummy Tightener w/ Leah Sarago DVD Review

BalletCore

About a month ago I won this workout DVD from Brooklyn FitChick’s blog.  I was really excited to try it.

This DVD is roughly 45 minutes long and doesn’t require any equipment except a mat for the floor segment.  It doesn’t really have a formal warm up it just goes straight into the 9 minute standing toning segment.  I found some of this very challenging.  A lot of the standing moves focus on balance and balance is not one of my strong points.  I did like this segment and I also wish it had been a bit longer.  It started to pick up and almost had a mild cardio effect from moving faster. Then it ended just as it was picking up.

The floor toning segment is 30 minutes long.  Leah does some tucking movements and movements to work not only your front abs but also your obliques.  Some of the techniques she uses like these little circle movements in the holds are really effective and you will feel the burn.  Sometimes the burn was so intense that I had to come out of it for a moment and then go back into it.

The workout ends with a 6 minute stretch.

The set was calming and serene.  The music was sort of funky.  Leah is knowledgeable and serious.   If you can only do workouts that have a fun factor or an instructor with a cheerleader-type personality then this will not be a workout for you.  If you are looking for a serious ab toning workout with a few new techniques then this may just be up your alley.

I would give it 3 1/2 stars out of 5.

Thanks to Brooklyn FitChick for offering this on your blog.  Find Brooklyn FitChick’s blog here: http://brooklynfitchick.com/

LowerBodyBallet

Since I liked the core workout so much and I enjoy lower body barre workouts, I thought I would try this one in the series. I like to do barre workouts because although I’m old school squats, lunges and deadlifts, I feel that barre workouts just get into those nooks and crannies of your butt/legs that those movements just don’t hit.  I have to be honest and say that I didn’t like it as much as the core workout.  It did burn and I’m sure it was effective but I’m used to doing barre workouts which have a bit of a cardio effect in the standing portions.

The standing portion of this workout is 34 minutes.  You will need either a sturdy chair or a workout barre for this segment of the workout.  There are portions facing the barre and portions where you are sideways to the barre.  The relevés and pliés with the circle movements really get your quads burning.  The standing segment will also get your calves burning as well.  The lunge-like movements with leg lifts while facing the barre will make the buttock of your standing leg really feel an intense burn.

There is a 7 minute floor toning segment for which you will need a mat.  These movements are mostly one-legged bridge lifts with some interesting techniques thrown in.  After this portion your butt will be fried!

Thankfully this workout has a very thorough 13 minute stretch.

Again, like the core workout, this does not have a fun factor (unless you are a masochist).  So you may not like it if you only go for workouts like that.

I would give this workout a 3 out of 5 stars because the techniques really are effective.  I just prefer other barre type workouts to this one.

One Response to “Ballet Body: Core Ultimate Tummy Tightener w/ Leah Sarago DVD Review”

  1. tonee78 Says:

    Great review Missy!

Leave a Reply

