TapouT XT2 Hurl XT Workout DVD Review

logo-xt2

It wasn’t too long ago the the original TapouT XT workout came out.  Maybe two years ago at the most. I remember seeing the infomercials and thinking it looked like a solid workout program.  I’m not a fan of buying a complete program however and that one bypassed me.

Then last year the TapouT XT2 program came out and promised to be even more extreme than the first program.  I glanced through the workouts and saw that one was named Hurl – well that sounded like a challenge that I wanted to partake in.  Nevertheless, I didn’t want to buy the complete program.  One of the best things I have done was buy a subscription to Kineticflix.  It’s sort of like Netflix but completely geared towards fitness/dance DVDs.  They are really good about getting the latest DVDs and programs (including beachbody programs) and you can try them one at a time without committing to purchasing an entire program.  I wanted to try the TapouT XT2 Hurl XT workout for a while now but just kept putting it off.  Then I saw it was available and I decided I was going to put that at the top of my queue.

To view the TapouT XT2 system click this link:  http://www.tapoutxt.com/xt2-index.html

You will notice that the system primarily uses a weighted/handled ball, strength bands, a jump rope, and weighted gloves.  Some of these are optional and are to intensify the workouts (the gloves).

For Hurl XT you need the ball, a jump rope and weighted gloves.  I used my own light ball and used my weighted gloves.  My 10 lb ball would have been WAY too much weight. Their ball is 4 lbs.  I also used my simulated cardio jump rope instead of a real jump rope.  You could just jump in place during those segments.  You could bypass the gloves completely.  I had to take them off about halfway through as after getting up and down off the floor they started cutting into my hands and I knew I could go harder if I took them off.

This workout was roughly 56 minutes long.  There was a very thorough 7 minute warm up.  The circuits are done in 10 minute blocks (except the final one is a little shorter).  The cardio movements are dynamic mostly being plyometric in nature. You will do a lot of jumping, a lot of pushups, a lot of squats, squat jumps, squat jacks, burpees, sprawls, etc.  There is a short water break between blocks.  Just enough time to grab a sip and towel off.  After the final block you do a minute long Killer Move which was a combination of a burpee and lateral knee tuck jump.  There was a 2 minute cooldown/stretch. I do not think this was enough for this type of intense workout and even the trainer tells you that you should do more stretching on your own.

This workout was right up there with the intensity of the DailyBurn Inferno workouts except this one was longer (the longest Inferno workout is 40 minutes but most of them are 30 minutes).

I loved the sense of accomplishment I got from completing the workout.  I felt invigorated and I felt the endorphins kick in.  My body felt like it had been on a bar-b-que grill.  Did I “hurl?”  No but like I said, had I used my 10 pound ball I think I would have for sure.

I like the trainer/creator Mike Karpenko.  He was pretty much get in, get out, get the job done type of guy and he wasn’t bad to look at either.

I am seriously considering buying this whole program.  I love intense workouts.

3 Responses to “TapouT XT2 Hurl XT Workout DVD Review”

  1. Wow, this looks really intense. You go girl!

  2. Thanks for the review. Can you substitute a dumbbell for the dual grip ball? I do not want to purchase that for just a few programs. Thank you for your help.

    • I don’t have one of the dual grip balls either. I just used my playground ball which isn’t weighted – the workout was intense enough for me w/o the added weight….I am sure you could hold a dumbbell for at least some of the moves and put it down if you got to a move that it didn’t accommodate. Thank you for your question.

Leave a Reply

