Dasha Libin Kettlebell Kickboxing The Body Series 40/20 Workout DVD Review

KBB4020

My review will be of one workout from the Kettlebell Kickboxing The Body Series.  The workout I completed is the KB Cardio 40/20 Burn workout.  For the first time in Mistransformation history I liked one of the workout DVDs so much that I wanted more and I completed it two times total.  That being said there were some problems with this workout that I will address below.

I used a 25 lb kettlebell.  Anything less and I wouldn’t have been challenged.  There were two moves where I had to lower the weight and I mention them below.

This workout itself is for intermediate to advanced person with kettlebell experience and knowledge of proper form.  This series does contain a kettlebell 101 disk and I would assume that would be a proper teaching tool.

After a thorough mobility warm up this workout starts out with a minute of mock jumping rope.

After that you get into the meat of the workout.  This being drills of 40 seconds of work and 20 seconds of rest.

The Drills:

ONE:  KB bottoms up swing to swing catch to knee up (alternating)

TWO:  3 alternating knees to sprawl.

THREE:  Complete Drill One again.

FOUR:  5 alternating knees and a sprawl.

FIVE:  Clean and press – In this segment there is an editing issue.  Dasha started out on the right arm but the clock didn’t start so it seems she is doing a total explanation then she goes on to the second arm (and the clock starts) but if you weren’t already finished with the first side because you didn’t realize you were supposed to be working out you miss it (I rewound it).  When I completed this the second time I accounted for this issue. This is an example of bad editing. It happened a couple of times in the workout where you should have been working out and Dasha was giving an explanation so you didn’t realize you should be doing the drill.  This drill was the worst of them though.

SIX: Jab Cross Side Thruster (really advanced can throw in a pushup)

SEVEN:  KB Killer Combo – On this Dasha says don’t squat but it feels just like that is what you are doing.  It is lowering to your heels in something of a squat and pushing the kettlebell up center and then pivoting left to right after that.  Dasha completes this 2x.  Your heart rate really gets up.  On the 2nd time around Dasha has Jenelle demo this move with a deck squat (Dreya Roll).  This is the first time I’ve seen anyone do this move with a kettlebell.  That’s really hardcore (not to mention dangerous unless you are really advanced – I won’t be doing that anytime soon).

EIGHT:  Reach Over Laterals Hops (not a skate).  This move is like a pendulum.  You replace one foot w/ the other while hopping laterally.

NINE:  Alternating Clean Push Press

TEN:  Repeat above Alt. Clean Push Press and add a backwards lunge and an advanced option is given.

ELEVEN:  My favorite move of the workout:   3 way laterals.  This is like a speed skater but with three different options for your arms.  First you try to touch the floor, next your arms are in the middle and on the third option you balance your leg in a Warrior 3 type movement.

TWELVE:  Alternating Kickout warriors – This move is a kickout to the side of your leg.  You bring your leg back in and lower the kettlebell to the floor while raising your leg like in Warrior 3.  I lowered the weight of my KB in this move so I could concentrate on balance and not throw out my back.   I liked this move though.  I don’t think I would have with a heavier weight.  I enjoyed the challenge.

THIRTEEN:  Bottoms up swing to goblet squat.

FOURTEEN:  SAQ Drill – I really can’t explain this but it’s a hopping drill and requires concentration. If you can’t get it and just hop you will be fine.

FIFTEEN:  Bottoms up raise to walking goblet squat – Like the bottoms up to squat above but when you get into the squat you stay in the squated position and then travel (walk).

SIXTEEN:  Lateral switches to double side thrusters.   Another one that you have to see to get an idea of what is done.

SEVENTEEN:  Grip curl press and lunge.  While gripping the kettlebell you curl it like a bicep curl and press it like a shoulder press.  After bringing it back down you do a backwards lunge.  Sort of feels like you are finishing off the strength department.

EIGHTEEN:  Grip curl press and lunge on the other arm/leg.

NINETEEN:  Last move (done for 2 minutes):  Alternating Jiujitsu Get Ups (with options given).  This is the other move I had to lower the weight.  There is no way I could keep a 25 lb kettlebell raised up for 2 minutes.

After the drills there is a cool down/stretch.  I felt a little more time could have been given to this.  I did a 30 minute yoga program after this though on my own.  Dasha’s not a big fan of flexibility however as she will tell you in this segment that mobility is more important than flexibility.  I am a fan of both.

At the end of this workout during the stretch segment Dasha tells you a bit about her background and her past (weight problem she had/why she trains).  At that point she felt more human to me.  You also get a taste of her knowledge of sports science.  She has a Master’s Degree in it.  I really didn’t know Dasha before this DVD.   I am hoping to try The Body Perfect Butt Lift and Shape DVD in the future.

I would give this 40/20 DVD 3 1/2 stars even though I liked the workout itself.  The bad editing of the DVD should have been caught on a workout series that is pretty costly – $119.95 on her website.  There is really no excuse for that type of error (especially when it occurred more than once).   I was lucky enough to get this DVD through my Kineticflix subscription.

 

4 Responses to “Dasha Libin Kettlebell Kickboxing The Body Series 40/20 Workout DVD Review”

  1. This sounds good for me since I fell off the fitness wagon a bit over the summer.

  2. Sounds like a good workout for me since I slacked a bit over the summer.

  3. Sorry to hear about the editing, I actually took one of Dasha’s classes in NYC a few years back and she is totally awesome!!!!!

    • I agree – she really has the knowledge….unfortunately I’m sure she didn’t even have a clue about the editing and depended on someone else….but it was bad on this particular DVD.

Leave a Reply

