Vintage Cathe Workout DVD Reviews

A few posts back I mentioned my jackpot of great vintage Cathe DVDs (my Coming Soon post).  I have finally completed all of the DVDs and am now in a position to talk about them.  Instead of doing each on a separate post I am just going to say a little bit about each one.  These have been out on the market for a while and a lot of diehard Catheletes probably already have these workouts.

My Favorite:  Lower Body Blast.  Out of all four of my recent purchases this is my favorite.  I think a better title for it would have been Lower Body Burn because that is exactly what is going to happen when you complete this.  There is one segment where Cathe does split squats or a lunge where one leg is raised on the step in the back.  I normally do these with like 20 pounds so when Cathe said she was doing them without weight I thought: What?  After doing it I completely understood.  She does such a high rep count with a combination of tempos and holds that it really does make your butt burn.  The “low ends” are killer.  This workout is a great all around workout for the lower body.  You get strength, cardio bursts and conditioning exercises.  With the bonus conditioning work this is 76 minutes in total length.  Conveniently chaptered and premixed.

LowerBodyBlast

Most Bang for your Buck:  Pyramid Lower & Upper Body. This DVD has two separate workouts on it and that makes it a great value.  A 56 minute workout for the upper body and a 49 minute workout for the lower body.  Cathe uses the pyramid format for weights and rep counts and this really does work your muscles to fatigue (if you lift heavy enough).  I had some great DOMS the day after I completed each of these.   This DVD is chaptered to mix and match between the two workouts.  Good workout but horrible background set lol.  OMG what were they thinking.  It’s so cheesy looking.

Pyramid

Most challenging:  Gym Style Legs.  This workout is total isolation/compound exercises with no cardio bursts but anyone who works legs knows that a leg workout can still get the heart rate up.  A variety of tools are used: Band, high step, dumbbells, barbell, and stability ball.  Another workout that works the lower half to fatigue.   One thing I remember in this workout is burning out my calves like never before.  Cathe doesn’t let up in the calf raises off of the step.  Relentless.  67 minutes in length.  Another one with a terrible setting. Thank god the workout ROCKS!

GymStyleLegsMy Least Favorite:  Body Max 2.  Yes Body Max 2 is my least favorite of these gems but that doesn’t mean it is worthless or that it will never get used.  The reason why it is my least favorite is because of the step choreography.  I’m a little clumsy at first but I’m getting better at it.  I’ve even done a couple of other Cathe step workouts but I like more athletic/less dancey when it comes to step.  This workout is versatile.  It has Step Combos – Power Circuits which is step choreography with lower body moves interspersed; Upper body weights, Abs and a bonus cardio segment.  One thing I really did like about this workout and probably when I use it the most for is the option to do  double upper body.  You do two sets of each of the upper body moves with this premix plus the abs and I felt this premix option was golden.  So even though I say it was my least favorite I still find it useful.

BodyMax2

There you have it.  Once again stay tuned I have another Cathe review and giveaway coming soon!

One Response to “Vintage Cathe Workout DVD Reviews”

  1. Great review Missy!!! I love Cathe!

Leave a Reply

