Cathe Great Glutes Workout DVD Review

GreatGlutesCathe

Great Glutes is a 55 minute (w/ 6 minute chair segment bonus) lighter weight glute focused workout. The tools needed are a few sets of dumbbells (or one if that’s all you have), gliding discs or a paper plate, exercise ball and the Firewalker (loop stretch band) and chair for the bonus segment.

After a thorough warm up Cathe starts off with a bang:  Compound moves with a non-plyometric cardio move interspersed between more compound moves to get your heart rate up and keep it up.  The first segment is all standing and approximately 17 minutes in length.  As usual Cathe uses tempo changes and pulsing to really burn out your butt on the squats and lunges.  Cathe uses 8 pound dumbbells but this wasn’t heavy enough for me and to make this segment more advanced I had to use heavier weights.  If you like using lighter weights then this workout is for you.

The second segment is another standing portion that uses gliding discs.  If you don’t have gliding discs you can use a paper plate.  This segment is approximately 8 minutes in length.  This portion is a series of lunges with change of tempo, pulsing, etc., utilized once again.  After the first standing portion this was a relief to move on to.

The third segment utilizes the stability ball and your hamstrings will really be worked.  First there are roll-ins with both legs and then after two rounds of that you do roll-ins one leg at a time.  After that you get to squeeze the ball ala Thighmaster flashback and then you feel like a kid at the playground when you throw the ball up to your feet and catch it.

The fourth segment is the floor work without equipment.  There are only two moves:  Hydrants and Pizza Presses.  This may sound simple but in true Cathe style she burns your butt with a ton of reps.  I would estimate over 100 for each move on each leg.  This works the endurance and I really have to fight to get through this.  I think this portion is what was responsible for my DOMS (Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness) the next day.

There is an optional 6 minute ballet style chair bonus to work your calves and hamstrings.  You will need a “firewalker” (loop stretch band) and one weight plus the chair.

A thorough stretch ends the workout.

So as you can see the workout is called Great Glutes but you are also going to work your inner thighs, hamstrings and calves for Great Legs as well.  I mean what good are great glutes if you don’t have some great legs to go with your great butt?

I’m going to be honest here I do like this workout but I prefer the heavyweight “Gym Style” workouts that I reviewed last week to this.  It’s a great workout for people who do not like to use heavy weights or for use on days when you don’t want to lift heavy.  I would give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Stay tuned because in the next few days I will have a post where you can win your own Great Glutes DVD (a brand new still in the plastic wrap DVD.  I’m not giving up my own just yet.). 

5 Responses to “Cathe Great Glutes Workout DVD Review”

  1. This new Cathe workout looks great! I am a huge Cathe fan. I can’t wait to give this workout a try!

  2. I actually did a workout about 1.5 years ago with Cathe in person. This was a great one!

  3. I did this workout with Cathe in person. It’s a killer!

  4. oooh, I need a good glutes video!!! I want to win the giveaway!!!!

Leave a Reply

