Amy Dixon’s Raise Some Bell Workout DVD Review

RaiseSomeBell

When I saw that Amy Dixon was releasing a new kettlebell workout video I was very excited.  I love Amy and I love kettlebells.  When the first couple of reviews came in I saw nothing but love for this workout.  Then some of the bad reviews started rolling in.  I’ve been working out with kettlebells for about 5 years now and have come to find that just like wine and books there too are kettlebell snobs and some people aren’t going to like any kettlebell workout unless it is traditional kettlebell work.  This workout contains some traditional elements but Amy also steps outside of the box on this one.

KETTLEBELL 101:  Amy gives a brief tuturial and explains and demonstrates some of the moves that will be in the workout.  Please play this before starting the workout.

The RAISE SOME BELL Workout:  This workout is 40 minutes.  It has a warm up and a cool down.  A few minutes into the warm up when Amy said: grab your kettlebell I was worried.  I thought, “Amy, but I’m not warmed up yet!”  Thankfully she grabbed the kettlebell and continued warming up with it.  I felt better about the warm up after that.   The cool down contains some great stretches but I felt that maybe it should have been a minute or two longer.

A few things:  If you don’t have any kettlebell experience this one is not for you EVEN if you are an advanced exerciser.  Please don’t start working out with kettlebells with Raise Some Bell.  Please get a beginner kettlebell DVD and learn proper form first.  A few are:   Sara Lurie of Iron Core fame (she was one of my first) or get another one that has a really good tutorial.  Paul Katami’s tutorials are very thorough as are Lauren Brooks’.  Amy’s  Kettlebell 101 is short.  She does demonstrate a few moves but she misses explaining the hip hinge for the swing (this is very beginner) and arcing the bell on the snatch. You know these things after you’ve worked out for a while with them but I just want people to learn proper beginner form first!

I went lighter than normal on this one.  I usually swing 25 up to 35 pounds.  I used 15 lbs on Raise Some Bell.  Amy moves very quickly.  You may even have to go lighter than this your first time through or move at a slower pace than Amy does.  In fact I recommend it until you get the feel of this workout.

There is a move in this workout that is a little scary.  It is called the Rainbow.  I’ve done similar unconventional swing work in other workout videos where you swing the kettlebell in a nontraditional way but this was the first Rainbow swing for me.  Definitely DO NOT go heavy on the Rainbow move or you may hurt your rotator cuff or tear a muscle in your lower back.    Also, you need high ceilings to do this move because you are swinging it over your head and turning front to back.  Amy mentions that you can do this without the bell if you are not comfortable with this move.

This workout has a modifier (girl to the left).  Please follow her if you are unsure that you can complete a movement with proper form.

Please note that I’m not saying this workout is bad because I really liked it.  I am just keeping it real and trying to keep my followers safe. 

CORE segment:  There is a short core segment in this workout.  It is about 7 minutes long.  Amy starts with some standing moves: curtsey chops to standing Russian twists and chops to combining the twists and the chops.  This segment ends of the floor with a modified Turkish get up.  It’s a nice short core segment.

I would give this workout 3 and a half out of five stars.     I love Amy.  I love her energy and I love what she brings to fitness.

 

3 Responses to “Amy Dixon’s Raise Some Bell Workout DVD Review”

  1. Great tips to help beginners make wise choices. I have injured myself with Kbells. Proper form is crucial.

Leave a Reply

