21 Day Fix with Autumn Calabrese Workouts (only) Review

21 Day Fix with Autumn Calabrese Workouts (only) Review

I’m sure you’ve seen the infomercial on TV with Autumn and Montel Williams advertising the 21 Day Fix Beachbody program. When I wake up in the middle of the night I can usually find it on one of my gazillion cable channels.  When I first saw the infomercial I really thought that the program was geared toward the eating and nutrition element with the cute little plastic containers you use to keep your portion control in check.  It seemed as though maybe the workouts were a part of the program for people who may not already have a workout regimen or their own workout DVDs at home.  In other words, I thought this was Beachbody’s first totally nutrition-based program.  Boy was I wrong. (Disclosure: I have not even seen the eating plan/nutrition plan so this post is not about that.)

The first 21 Day Fix workout I got to try through my Kineticflix rental (which is like Netflix but for workout DVDs) was the Plyo Fix.  It wasn’t my first choice.  I was trying to get a Chalene Johnson PiYo DVD (I had several in my queue) but this was the first available on my list.  I wasn’t very thrilled to try it at all. I didn’t want to like Autumn.  I thought she was fluff.  I thought her main focus was on the eating.  I thought she wasn’t going to know a lot about working out.  I thought it was going to be amateurish.  I thought wrong. (Did I even get a look at the girl’s abdominal cage?  Hello!)  I have to say that it really didn’t take long to warm up to Autumn.

I’m not going to review every workout individually I’m just going to list which workouts from the program I have done, which I have not done (yet) and how I feel about them.

The workouts I have done:

Plyo Fix

Cardio Fix, Dirty 30, Yoga Fix

Total Body Cardio Fix, Upper Fix, Lower Fix, Pilates Fix

10 Min Fix for Abs

Workouts I have not done:

Flat Abs Fix & Barre Legs (I have it in my queue though and if I get it I will do an Afterward for this post)

Each 30 min workout is made up of 1 minute drills with 20 seconds of rest. There are 2 movements in each circuit and each circuit is repeated to make up a round.  There are 4 rounds.  The workouts go quickly.  The workouts are not easy.  Some of the workouts are cardio based and some of the workouts use dumbbells/bodyweight.  As you can see from what is listed above there is something for everyone.  The workouts are intermediate to high-intermediate with modifications for the beginner.  You can watch Kat for those.  I think the workouts can even keep an advanced person happy on a lighter workout day but things can always be done to advance on certain workouts like lifting heavier weights.

The 10 minute Fix for Abs is structured a lot like the 30 min workouts but the time you do a movement is shorter.  I believe it is 30 seconds.

I have to tell you that I did the Lower Fix and the Pilates Fix on the same day and I could barely walk the next day.  I’m even someone who lifts heavy weight and these 1 minute drills had my legs screaming.

Autumn’s coaching delivery in the workouts is very motivational.  She is very easy-going but at the same time pushes you to give your best to the workout.  She offers form technique and directs you to look at Kat for the modifications.

The yoga workout is really only yoga inspired workout so a true yogi will probably only want to do this one once and then incorporate their own yoga into the program.  It’s more of an athletic stretch type of yoga program without the body/mind/breathing/movement connection that we yogis crave.

I liked these workouts a lot and I have to tell you that I was excited by the recent news that there is going to be a 21 Day Fix Extreme released early next year!  I really cannot wait to see how Autumn takes it up a level.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

