My Summer Vacation at the Kripalu Center For Yoga & Health Part 1

Followers of MisTransformation know by now that I love my yoga.  For the past few years my summer vacations have involved yoga in some form or another whether it was yoga on the beach in Ocean City, Maryland, or attending the Finger Lakes Yoga Festival in Ithaca, New York, two years in a row.  I have been looking for something deeper to enrich my yoga practice.  I would like to do a yoga retreat in Costa Rica but I just can’t afford the expense at the moment. I also like the idea of going to one of the larger yoga festivals out in Colorado or California but again, I just can’t swing that expense right now either.  That is where Kripalu Center for Yoga & Health (Kripalu) comes into play.

One of my yoga teachers, Josie, had been to Kripalu numerous times. She has talked about how much she loves it and how great the facility is.  Josie gives credit to Kripalu as giving her her start in the world of yoga.  I was definitely intrigued and curious to find out what Kripalu was all about. It sounded like something I would love.  Josie always has Kripalu magazines available at the yoga studio and I always pick up the current month’s copy to read.  The programs all sound interesting and enjoyable.  There are many to choose from and Kripalu isn’t just for yoga aficionados but there is something for a wide range of people.  Categories include Health & Wellness; Fitness & Outdoors; Self-Discovery; Spiritual Practice; events for families; events for women only; events for men only; children’s events; yoga teacher training; school of ayurveda; an R&R retreat package and for an added fee healing arts options.

The cost of Kripalu seemed pretty reasonable to me but the only problem was that it is in Stockbridge, Massachusetts which is at least 6 hours away from where I live and I don’t really like to drive that far by myself.  One day in the spring during class Josie announced that she was going to be attending a teacher training program at Kripalu in the summer and if anyone wanted to check out what programs were going on that weekend they could ride along with her if they were interested.  That sounded right up my alley. I checked out the programs and I liked the idea of an R&R Retreat.  It give you the option to create your own personal experience at Kripalu.  They have classes and programs offered to those doing an R&R Retreat and you can choose to attend them or not.  You could choose to spend your time at the lake if you wanted, reading in the quiet room or exploring the grounds.  The time is yours to do as you please.

I decided I wanted to go and I told Josie I was interested in going along with her in August.  I explained that I couldn’t drive myself that far and she agreed that I could ride along.

I will detail my actual experience in Part 2 of My Summer Vacation at the Kripalu Center For Yoga & Health.

Leave a Reply

