My Summer Vacation at the Kripalu Center For Yoga & Health Part 2

KripaluGrandshot

While the summer seemed to fly by, the time from when I told Josie that I wanted to ride along with her until it was time to leave seemed to take forever.  I did my research of the facility online and read reviews of others who had visited.  While over 75% of the reviews were positive, there were a few things from the negative reviews that bothered me.  (1) Sharing a room with others (although there are private rooms available, the most economic choice is to go with a dorm room; (2) Sharing bathroom/shower facilities (the term “vacation” usually doesn’t conjure up thoughts of dragging shampoo and other necessities to a bathroom down the hall); and (3) No A/C in dorm rooms and some other rooms in the facility (Kripalu was originally a Jesuit monk seminary making the facility bare bones).    I contacted Kripalu about not having A/C in the dorm room, especially in the summer, and they assured me that the Berkshires (the mountain range where Kripalu is located) are very cool at night and each visitor is provided with box fans for the dorm rooms.    This eased my mind a bit.

Before I knew it, Josie and I were embarking on the 5 hour drive from Williamsport, PA, to Stockbridge, MA.  It was an interesting drive with some absolutely stunning scenery along the way.  From the mountains in Northeastern Pennsylvania, to a peak of the outer edge of the Catskill Mountains in New York, until we finally arrived in the Berkshires in Lenox, MA, and Kripalu in neighboring Stockbridge.
Before arriving at the facility, Josie made a quick stop at Olivia’s Overlook, a grand view of the “Stockbridge Bowl” that Kripalu is a part of.
DSCN4293 DSCN4289 DSCN4291 DSCN4292
My excitement began to grow knowing that we were so close to Kripalu.  Then we saw the actual entrance sign and I had to grab a picture.  Pulling into the parking lot a Kripalu you got the sense that this was a very busy weekend for the yoga center.  Most parking spaces were already taken and people were already out bustling.
DSCN4295
The view of Kripalu Yoga and Health Center is a grand view in and of itself.  The building is impressively large.  The word “institution” is the first thing that comes to mind; a grand majestic institution.  That is not surprising since the facility was originally a Jesuit monk seminary (built in 1957) and later a yoga cult.  If you go back over 100 years, before this institution was built, a grand mansion sat on the premises.  There is a very rich history if you take the time to look into it (Google it.  It’s worth it!).
DSCN4320 DSCN4300 DSCN4301
After the cardio inducing walk up the hill from the parking lot to the front entrance of Kripalu, we made our way to the registration area for our welcome packet, name tag, schedule and room card key.  Josie and I were very lucky that the rooms we got were located on the first and main floor.  We were not so lucky that in the room we would be staying, only top bunks were available.  I’ll talk more about my classes and the rest of my visit in Part 3.
I am sorry I do not have more pictures of the inside of the facility.  Electronic devices are frowned upon and it is prohibited to take pictures of the other participants so I just shied away from even coming close to offending anyone by taking a picture of them.  You can try www.kripalu.org if you would like to see more of the facility.
DSCN4298
Leave a Reply

