The Master’s Hammer & Chisel Total Body Chisel with Autumn Calabrese Workout Review

Hammer&Chisel2

As I’m sure you Beachbody aficionados know, the program The Master’s Hammer & Chisel with Autumn Calabrese (21 Day Fix) and Sagi Kalev (Body Beast) will be released in December.  Beachbody OnDemand has sneak peaks of two workouts from this system.  I have tried them both and today I am reviewing the Total Body Chisel workout.

For this workout you will need some moderate to heavy dumbbells depending on your ability.  You will also need a bench if you have one available.  If you don’t have a bench you can use an exercise ball and a high step (or do the modifications shown in the workout).

This workout is roughly 36 minutes in length. The setup is 3 circuits of 3 moves with 10 repetitions completed for 3 rounds. Rest is between circuits.

There is a very short warm up of dynamic stretching.

Circuit one consists of a squat, a chest press (w/ bench or ball or floor) and reverse grip row.

Circuit two consists of a back lunge (Right/Left), chest fly and dumbbell pullovers.

Circuit three consists of bench step up to crossover lunge (Right/Left – modification shown in workout), angled biceps curls and triceps bench dips (or floor).

After all of the circuits there is a short cool down/stretch.  A little too short for my taste but I always take some extra time to stretch on my own.

As you can see, the workout isn’t rocket science.  Pretty basic moves that you see in most other lifting workouts.  What you do get with this workout is Autumn’s motivation and technique guidance.  If it weren’t for that, I probably wouldn’t keep doing the workout but I do keep going back to it and increasing my weights as Autumn instructs.

I really hope that the rest of Hammer & Chisel aren’t as basic as this. I’m hoping there is some excitement that they just aren’t showing us yet.

I would give this 3 1/2 out of 5 stars because of the short warm up and cool down and because I just need a little extra oomph for my workouts. Something to make it different and stand out from the others.

Leave a Reply

