The Master’s Hammer & Chisel – Chisel Cardio w/ Autumn Calabrese Workout Review

ChiselCardioACMHAC

If you follow the MisTransformation blog you may have noticed that my last two posts were sneak peaks of workouts from The Master’s Hammer & Chisel workout program that was set to release with Beachbody. Well, it released in the beginning of December and is already running so rampant that Beachbody is having some shipping issues that Carl Daikeler, the CEO of Beachbody had to address in a live Facebook video earlier today.

That being said, I was very happy to see that today Chisel Cardio was the Challenge du Jour offering on Beachbody On Demand of which I am a subscriber.   Due to the popularity of The Master’s Hammer & Chisel I thought it would be a great idea to review it right here on my MisTransformation blog.

Chisel Cardio is two rounds of ten moves (counting for left and right side) most of which are weighted.  Each move is completed for a minute each.  You rest when Autumn talks.  You will need at least two sets of dumbbells, a pullup bar and a bench.  A modifier is offered if you do not have some of these items.

The ten moves are:

Up & over the bench (weighted)

Pullup (or band pull)

Dumbbell swing

Figure 8 (weighted ab move on the floor)

Burpee

Side lunge with sword pull (left/right – weighted)

Forearm plank with side kick

Side bench step up with a kick (weighted – left/right)

Okay by now you’re like but Missy that is only 8 moves.  Again, remember I’m accounting for the left and right side of the side lunge and the step up kick.

Each round is approx. 13 minutes and 40 seconds long.

I am so glad Autumn provided this workout.  I love, love, love weighted cardio workouts.  I hate jumping anymore and love working hard to get my heart rate up and having the added benefit of weighted moves.

While completing the first round  of this workout I was like, “is that all you got?”  It seemed a bit too easy BUT by the second round I was eating my words and by the end of the workout I was a red hot sweaty mess and I felt like I got a great workout in.

I like this offering from Autumn a lot better than the Total Body Chisel workout.  My only pet peeve is that during the cool down stretch I felt like she went faster on the second side than she did on the first side.  I find that a lot of trainers do that in workout videos and I really wish they would be more mindful of this.

I would give Chisel Cardio 4 out of 5 stars.

Hammer&Chisel2

 

Leave a Reply

