The Master’s Hammer & Chisel – Chisel Balance w/ Autumn Calabrese Workout Review

Hammer&Chisel3

I have a few friends on my Facebook page that are engaged in the Master’s Hammer & Chisel program. I don’t have the program but do get to experience the workouts through my Beachbody OnDemand subscription.  One workout from the H&C program that sticks out in my mind is Chisel Balance with Autumn because most of the time when I see that it is on others’ rotation for the day it is met with a bunch of cyber grunts and groans.  I was really excited when I woke up this morning to find that it was today’s Challenge du Jour OnDemand.

Required equipment:  Dumbbells and Bench or Stability ball.  Modifications are shown if you don’t have the bench or stability ball.   Follow Mike.

WORKOUT DESCRIPTION from OnDemand:   A total-body scorcher that taps into your strength and endurance with killer stability and core training.

Chisel Balance is 9 different movements with 15 repetitions each done for 2 sets.  Because this is balance, most are done on one leg or with one arm at a time so you would do the move Right to Left and then repeat.  The workout is approximately 40 minutes long.

The moves are:

Squat bench sit with one leg raised while holding a dumbbell.  If you can’t sit down with one leg raised, there is a modification shown.

Lat pullover with 1 leg raised (R/L).  You don’t repeat this on each leg because this is really a lat focused move and both arms are used at once so this move is done twice total.

Single leg squat deadlift. (R/L)

Up down bench climb on hands.  This move is done in a plank with your bench in front of you.  You climb the bench with your hands.  Each hand is a lead hand (meaning you don’t alternate per set).  I’m sorry but I can’t remember if this was done 4x total or 2x total. I do remember it being tough as I went on however.  In the back of my mind I feel like I only did it 2x total.  I will check on this.

Bulgarian split squat jump.  This isn’t as bad as it sounds.  This is more like a rocking horse movement where you lift your front leg off the ground towards your stomach rather than do a jump with both feet off the ground (which I have done in other workouts).

One arm renegade row with opposite leg lift. (R/L)

One arm chest press in bridge formation while lifting a leg and your upper back on the bench.  (R/L)

Balance row to pistol squat.  (The most challenging of all the movements as far as balance goes – at least for me).

As you can see, on a lot of the moves you are working more than just the targeted area, i.e., in the bridge movements you definitely feel it in your butt.

In this workout, I feel that you have to go a little lighter in your weights:  1. Because you are doing 15 reps/2 sets back-to-back; and 2. Because you have to concentrate on the balance element of the movement.

I feel like I got a solid workout and one thing I liked about the cool down in this workout was that it was different than the other ones I have tried from this program.  Autumn had been doing the same for most of them.  I feel it was targeted to this particular workout.

4 1/2 stars out of 5 because it was tough and that’s the way I like it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

