Descending Ladder Workouts Nos. 1 and 2 (my own design)

First off to anyone unfamiliar – ladder workouts do not have anything to do with the kind of ladder you climb.  Rather, it is descending or ascending a certain amount of reps like this:  10 reps first round, 9 reps second round, 8 reps third round and so on “down the ladder.”  Or you could go the other way 1 rep first round, 2 reps second round, 3 reps third round and so on.  It doesn’t have to be 10 reps.  You can set  your own amount.  I just found that 10 reps worked for these workouts and they take approximately 20 mins each.  I do dynamic movements and add some plyo to keep my heart rate up.

Descending Ladder Workout No. 1 (Abs Day) 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

Jumping Jacks w/ DBs

Side to Side Twists w/ DBs

Jump Squats w/ DBs

Sledgehammers w/ DB

Mountain Climbers

Bicycles

Russian Twists w/ DBs

Down and Outs with DBs.

Descending Ladder Workout No. 2 (Abs Day) With Ball 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1

Ball Slams

Woodchops Left

Woodchops Right

Lighthouses

Halo – Right

Halo – Left

V-Ups w/Ball

Oblique Twist Sit-ups w/ Ball

8 Responses to “Descending Ladder Workouts Nos. 1 and 2 (my own design)”

  1. Nice workout drill. I need to use this myself and with my clients. You need to become a trainer girl!

  2. I gotta be honest here – I don’t know what most of that means. Do you have links to the exercises? Or perhaps a vlog demo?

  3. I should add that my main point with the workout is the ladder drill itself. You can incorporate your own moves that you are familiar with. I collected some of these from workout DVDs to put together my own ladder workout.

  4. WOW! Looks like a great workout. I, too, don’t know what a lot of them are, but I can look them up! I like the idea of an ladder.

  5. I’m no where near this kind of workout, but it looks great!

  6. […] style workout which is similar to the ladder workout I posted on here back in June of last year: https://mistransformation.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/descending-ladder-workouts-nos-1-and-2-my-own-desi….  This means that rep counts are gradually increased and you do one rep, then two, then three, […]

Leave a comment